Short answer: two white tiles that look the same in a photograph are told apart by the rows on their product pages, not by the picture. Across the twenty-nine white tiles on this site, all twenty-nine state a material; twenty-eight state a size; twenty-eight state a face; twenty-eight state a thickness, from 6 mm to 10 mm; one states a rectified edge; twelve record a slip class; twelve are named for a look. Those seven rows are what a forum poster is really asking about when they ask whether one tile will "achieve the same look" as another, and the honest comparison is row by row. White tiles: 29 whites compared reads all twenty-nine pages that way, one row at a time.
| Row on the product page | How many of the 29 white tiles record it | Values found |
|---|---|---|
| Material | 29 of 29 | Ceramic 10 · Porcelain 14 · Natural marble 5 |
| Size | 28 of 29 | From 12.8 × 95 mm pieces and 225 × 230 mm sheets to 600 × 1200 mm |
| Face (finish) | 28 of 29 | Gloss, Matt, Honed, Polished, Texture and honed; some list two |
| Thickness | 28 of 29 | 6 mm (4) · 7 mm (1) · 8 mm (10) · 10 mm (13) |
| Rectified edge | 1 of 29 | Recorded on Studio Pure White Wall Tile |
| Slip class (AS 4586) | 12 of 29 | A class where the supplier states one; blank elsewhere |
| Look | 12 of 29 | Marble look 9 · Terrazzo look 2 · Stone look 1 |
1. Material: three answers
Ten whites record Ceramic, fourteen Porcelain and five Natural marble. The nine marble-look whites read Not specified until their Material rows were updated on 1 October 2026 from supplier documentation; this site does not fill in a blank itself. The row records the body the supplier states; it does not rank bodies. The five tiles here that are actually stone is the long version of why the row, not the look, is the answer.
2. Size: the row everyone reads, and the one that hides a sheet
Twenty-eight of the twenty-nine state a size; the one that does not is a finger mosaic whose page records the piece size and asks you to check the current sheet size. Two tiles of the same nominal size can still differ at the edge, which is row 5. Size is also the row that sets joint length: about 16.7 m per square metre at 75 × 300 mm against 3.3 m at 600 × 600 mm. Tile sizes in Australia works through it.
3. Face: five names, and some tiles carry two
Gloss, matt, honed, polished and texture are the finish words recorded on the whites here. Pietra Vela Fluted's finish row reads Not specified; its fluted face is recorded in a separate Profile row. Several products list two, honed or polished, matt or polished, texture and honed; where the two are alternatives, the product page has offered them as a choice since 5 October 2026, so which one arrives is settled there. Two whites with the same body and size and different faces are two different walls. The twelve ways this range writes a finish lists them all.
4. Thickness: 6 mm to 10 mm, recorded on twenty-eight
Thirteen whites record 10 mm: the 300 × 600 mm wall tile, the nine marble-look tiles, two terrazzo-look tiles and one stone-look tile. Ten record 8 mm, five subway tiles and the five mosaic sheets recorded as marble; four mosaic sheets record 6 mm and one 7 mm. One, a finger mosaic, records no thickness. Thickness changes what the tile weighs, how it meets a trim and how a cut edge looks; it is one of the rows two look-alike tiles most often differ on, and the sample piece is where to see it when the page is silent.

5. Rectified: one page says it
Rectified means the edges were cut square after firing, which holds the size tight and lets the joint run narrow. One white here records it. On the others, the page says nothing either way, and the edge on the sample is the evidence: a slightly rounded, glazed edge is the usual sign of a non-rectified tile, and it asks for a wider joint. It is not a defect; it is a different edge.
6. Slip class: twelve record one, and a blank is not a result
Twelve of the whites record a class on the AS 4586 scale, the value the supplier's documentation holds; this site does not hold the underlying test reports and a recorded class is not approval for an application. The other seventeen record nothing, and nothing is what it means: not recorded here, not passed, not failed. What to confirm before choosing explains how to read a blank. The records do not name an edition; the edition in the Standards Australia catalogue is AS 4586-2013, Slip resistance classification of new pedestrian surface materials.
7. Look: twelve are named for something else
Nine whites are marble-look, two terrazzo-look, one stone-look. A look is a name for the face, printed or figured; it says nothing about the body, which row 1 records separately: Porcelain for the marble-look nine. Seventeen whites carry no look at all: they are white because the glaze or the stone is white. Marble-look tiles: 14 faces compared lists the nine.
8. The rows that are not there
No product page here records care or sealing instructions, the number of face variations in a look, or the batch your order will come from; every page carries the line that production batches can vary. Those absences are shared by both tiles alike, which is why they are not the place to look for a difference.
9. Reading two pages side by side
Open both product pages. Read the seven rows in the order of the table. Where both say the same, the photo is telling the truth. Where one is filled and the other blank, that blank is the difference, and it is a question for the supplier or the installer, not a fault of the page. Then order a sample piece of each and put them on the bench together; Tile samples at home takes it from there.
Questions people ask
Is porcelain better than ceramic?
The Material row records the body the supplier states; it does not rank them, and this site does not either. What differs between two specific tiles is in their other rows: size, face, thickness, edge, and whether a slip class is recorded.
Do any white tiles say Not specified for material?
No. Until their Material rows were updated on 1 October 2026 from supplier documentation, nine marble-look whites did, because the supplier's documentation did not state a material and the pages said so rather than guessing; all nine now record Porcelain.
What does rectified mean?
Edges cut square after firing, so tiles sit to a tighter size and a narrower joint. One white here records it; on the rest, look at the sample's edge.
Where these numbers come from
All counts were read from the twenty-nine product pages listed under White tiles on 5 September 2026 (the face row and section 3 were corrected on 30 September 2026: fluted is recorded in a Profile row, not as a finish; the material, thickness and slip-class counts were updated on 1 October 2026 from supplier documentation, and the face row and section 3 on 4 October 2026 from the supplier's current documentation): the Material, Size, Finish and Thickness rows, the slip-class row where present, and the look and rectified tags. Documentation changes, so read the page for the tile you are comparing on the day.
References
Standards Australia. AS 4586-2013, Slip resistance classification of new pedestrian surface materials. Catalogue entry, store.standards.org.au/product/as-4586-2013
The Standards Australia facts are limited to its public catalogue entry, read on 22 September 2026: designation and title. No paid standard text was copied or paraphrased.
Search with Google? Add Tilekind as a preferred source and Google is more likely to show our guides in your Top stories.