Guides

Concrete-look tiles: 6 faces compared by size, finish and joint count

Six concrete-look tiles compared on the rows their product pages record: all porcelain, all matt, one size or two, and what each page leaves blank.
In this guide

Short answer: all six concrete-look tiles here record Porcelain as the material and Matt as the finish, so this family offers no choice of surface at all; the five travertine-look tiles are the only other look family here that uniform. The choice that is left is size, and only the three Urban tiles offer more than one: at 300 × 600 mm a square metre carries 5 m of joint, at 600 × 600 mm it carries 3.3 m. All six pages record a slip classification and a box coverage, though the three Urban tiles state it for their 600 × 600 mm box only.

Editorial wall study: large square concrete-look tiles in a warm mid grey, laid in a grid with very fine joints, their flat powdery surface scattered with pale aggregate speckle under even daylight.
Editorial scene · product not specified
# Product on this site Sizes recorded Finish Colour row Pieces per m² Joint per m²
1 Urban Pearl Concrete-Look Tile 300 × 600 mm / 600 × 600 mm Matt Pearl 5.56 / 2.78 5 m / 3.3 m
2 Urban Mist Concrete-Look Tile 300 × 600 mm / 600 × 600 mm Matt Mist 5.56 / 2.78 5 m / 3.3 m
3 Urban Graphite Concrete-Look Tile 300 × 600 mm / 600 × 600 mm Matt Graphite 5.56 / 2.78 5 m / 3.3 m
4 Quarry Sand Concrete-Look Tile 600 × 600 mm Matt Beige 2.78 3.3 m
5 Quarry Ash Concrete-Look Tile 600 × 600 mm Matt Grey 2.78 3.3 m
6 Quarry Stone Concrete-Look Tile 600 × 600 mm Matt Grey 2.78 3.3 m

1. One material, one finish, six tiles

The Material row on all six pages reads Porcelain and the Finish line on all six reads Matt. Only one other look family on this site is that uniform on both rows at once: the five tiles in the travertine-look family, which also record Porcelain and Matt and differ in grain. The others do not: the six in the stone-look family spread across matt, honed and rough, and the fourteen in the marble-look family all record Porcelain but differ on the Finish row. Here both rows are filled in and identical across the shelf, which means the surface is not a variable you are choosing between — it is settled before you start. Every one of the six also appears in porcelain tiles and on the matt shelf.

The product type row reads Concrete-look tile. These are porcelain tiles that resemble poured concrete; the pages do not describe them as poured concrete, and neither does this guide. Quarry Stone Concrete-Look Tile puts the distinction in its own opening line — “A mid warm-grey concrete look that reads as poured stone rather than cement.”

2. The size is the only lever on joint count, and only three tiles offer it

The three Urban tiles are recorded in two sizes, 300 × 600 mm and 600 × 600 mm. The three Quarry tiles are recorded in one, 600 × 600 mm. That single difference is the largest number in this guide: a square metre of 300 × 600 mm holds 5.56 pieces and 5 m of joint, while the same square metre in 600 × 600 mm holds 2.78 pieces and 3.3 m. Asking for the smaller format adds about half again as much joint to the same area.

Joint length is the part of a finished surface that is not tile, which makes it the part carrying the grout colour. Choosing that colour from a dried sample joint rather than a chart matters more at 5 m per square metre than at 3.3. Tile sizes in Australia runs the same arithmetic across the rest of the catalogue, and how to measure a project covers what to do with the number once you have it.

3. Thickness is recorded for all six

All six pages state a thickness of 10 mm in their description list; on the three Quarry pages it was updated on 1 October 2026 from supplier documentation. If the number matters for your build-up, what to confirm before choosing lists it among the rows worth asking about before you order, and what to take to your tiler covers who is in a position to answer.

4. The colour rows are not written on the same scale

Read the Colour row across the six and it changes register halfway down. The three Urban pages name their own shade — Urban Pearl Concrete-Look Tile records Pearl, Urban Mist Concrete-Look Tile records Mist, Urban Graphite Concrete-Look Tile records Graphite. The three Quarry pages name a colour family instead: Quarry Sand Concrete-Look Tile records Beige, and Quarry Ash Concrete-Look Tile and Quarry Stone Concrete-Look Tile both record Grey. Urban Graphite, the one concrete-look face tagged Charcoal, is compared with the other four darks in Charcoal and black tiles: 5 compared.

So the six cannot be sorted by that one word. Two tiles that share the row are not necessarily closer to each other than two that do not: Quarry Ash opens “A light ash-grey concrete look scattered with pale aggregate, cool without going blue”, while Quarry Stone — the same row — opens “A mid warm-grey concrete look that reads as poured stone rather than cement.” The opening sentence is doing more work than the row is. Three of the six — Quarry Ash, Quarry Stone and Urban Mist — are among the seventeen in Grey tiles: 17 greys compared, read against the greys from the other faces. Two white tiles that look the same is the same problem on a different shelf, and how to compare samples at home is the only way to settle it in the room the tile is going into.

5. All six record a slip classification — and a classification is not an approval

Each of the six product pages carries a slip classification in its description list; the figure itself is on the page, next to the finish and the thickness. What this guide will not do is repeat the figure out of context, because a classification describes a surface under a test condition and does not say where a tile belongs. This site does not hold the underlying test reports, so it is not in a position to turn a classification into a recommendation for your room.

The person who can weigh it is the person who knows the substrate, the fall, and what the surface will be walked on with. The tiler checklist sets out that conversation, which NCC edition applies covers where the requirement comes from, and the wet-area documents covers what gets recorded when water is involved.

6. Box coverage, and the box size left blank

Box coverage read Not specified on every one of the six until it was updated on 2 October 2026 from supplier documentation. The three Quarry tiles, made in one size, state 4 pieces, 1.44 m² and 30 kg per box, and their quantity planner uses that figure. The three Urban tiles state the same for their 600 × 600 mm box; their 300 × 600 mm box is not specified in the supplier's current documentation. Since 5 October 2026 you choose the size on an Urban page, and with 300 × 600 mm chosen the page and its planner use the typical pack for that size, 8 pieces and 1.44 m² per box, labelled as not stated by the supplier. For an Urban tile at 300 × 600 mm, then, this site cannot tell you from the supplier's documentation how many pieces arrive in a box or how many square metres a box covers, and so a box count for that size is an estimate rather than the last step of an order calculation. Ask for it before you order — what a quote should list covers the rest of the line items, and what to do if the delivery is wrong covers the case where the answer turns out not to match what arrives.

Questions people ask

Are concrete-look tiles the same as concrete tiles?

Not on this site. All six pages here record Material as Porcelain and Product type as Concrete-look tile — porcelain made to resemble poured concrete. If you are looking for the poured material itself, that is a different trade and a different product, and nothing in the concrete look tiles collection is it. For the other things "concrete tiles" can mean, from roof tiles to cement tiles, see concrete tiles or concrete look?

Why do three of them come in two sizes and three in one?

Because that is what the product pages record, and a size only exists here if the page states it. The three Urban tiles record 300 × 600 mm and 600 × 600 mm; the three Quarry tiles record 600 × 600 mm alone. If you want a size that is not on the page, that question goes to the contact page rather than to this guide, and the answer may be that it is not made.

Does a matt finish tell me anything about slip?

No. Matt describes how the surface handles light, and every one of these six records it. The slip classification is a separate row from a separate test, and all six pages record that separately too. The two are not substitutes for each other, and neither one settles where a tile belongs — that goes back to the rows to confirm before choosing and to the person laying it.

What tiles look like poured concrete?

The six on this page. Each records Product type as Concrete-look tile and Material as Porcelain — fired porcelain made to resemble poured concrete, not the poured material. Three Urban tiles record 300 × 600 mm and 600 × 600 mm; three Quarry tiles record 600 × 600 mm alone.

Is there a porcelain slab that looks like concrete?

Not in this collection. The largest concrete-look format recorded here is 600 × 600 mm, and nothing in the six reaches the slab sizes that word usually describes. The largest format on this site is 600 × 1200 mm, and it appears in other look families rather than this one — what counts as large format sets out where those thresholds sit.

Where these numbers come from

Checked on 9 September 2026, with the colour rows re-checked on 15 September 2026, the comparison with the other look families corrected on 30 September 2026, and the thickness and marble-look material rows updated on 1 October 2026 from supplier documentation. Every size, colour row, finish, thickness and face description above is read from the product page it links to; where a page records nothing, this guide says so rather than supplying a value. The two counts are arithmetic, not measurements: pieces per square metre is 1 ÷ (width × height), and joint length per square metre is the tile perimeter ÷ (2 × area), because each joint is shared between two tiles and so each tile contributes half of its own perimeter. A figure is rounded once, at the end. The box coverage sentences in the short answer and section 6 were updated on 2 October 2026 from supplier documentation, and the planner sentence in section 6 on 5 October 2026, when the Urban pages began to let you choose the size.

Related guides: Stone-look tiles: 6 faces compared, Travertine-look tiles: 5 faces compared, Marble-look tiles: 14 faces compared, Terrazzo-look tiles: 5 faces compared and where to start.

Search with Google? Add Tilekind as a preferred source and Google is more likely to show our guides in your Top stories.

The 6 tiles in this guide

Questions about a tile? sales@tilekind.com.au

All articles