Guides

Stone-look tiles: 6 faces compared by finish, size and joint count

Six stone-look tiles compared: all record porcelain, across matt, honed and rough faces, with joint length per square metre for every size offered.
In this guide

Short answer: all six stone-look tiles here record Porcelain as the material, and they are spread across three different finishes — one matt, two honed and three rough. The size you ask for changes the joint count more than the face does: 300 × 600 mm gives 5 m of joint per square metre, 600 × 600 mm gives 3.3 m, and 600 × 1200 mm gives 2.5 m. All six record a slip classification on the product page — three in the specification table, three in the description.

Editorial wall study: large rectangular stone-look tiles in charcoal and mid grey, laid in a running bond, their broken cleft surface picked out by raking daylight from the right. Narrow joints.
Editorial scene · product not specified
# Product on this site Sizes recorded Finish Colour row Pieces per m² Joint per m²
1 Atlas Pearl Stone-Look Tile 600 × 600 mm Matt Grey 2.78 3.3 m
2 Atlas Ivory Stone-Look Tile 600 × 600 mm / 600 × 1200 mm Honed Beige 2.78 / 1.39 3.3 m / 2.5 m
3 Atlas Frost Stone-Look Tile 600 × 600 mm / 600 × 1200 mm Honed White 2.78 / 1.39 3.3 m / 2.5 m
4 Ridge Grey Stone-Look Tile 300 × 600 mm / 600 × 600 mm Rough Grey 5.56 / 2.78 5 m / 3.3 m
5 Ridge Slate Stone-Look Tile 300 × 600 mm / 600 × 600 mm Rough Grey 5.56 / 2.78 5 m / 3.3 m
6 Ridge Charcoal Stone-Look Tile 300 × 600 mm / 600 × 600 mm Rough Charcoal 5.56 / 2.78 5 m / 3.3 m

1. All six record a material: Porcelain

The Material row on all six stone-look product pages reads Porcelain. The fourteen tiles in the marble-look range now read Porcelain too; until 1 October 2026 their row read Not specified, and it was filled from supplier documentation. The guide to those fourteen faces sets them side by side. Here, as there, the row is filled in, so it can be used. Every one of the six also appears in porcelain tiles.

The product type row reads Stone-look tile, not stone. If you want the natural material rather than a porcelain tile that resembles it, that is a different shelf again — the five pieces in natural stone mosaics, and the five tiles here that are actually stone explains how to tell which is which from the page. The three Ridge tiles are slate looks; slate tiles or slate look? sets out what that means.

2. Three finishes across six tiles

This is the only look family on the site where the finish varies this much across so few tiles. Atlas Pearl Stone-Look Tile sits in matt; Atlas Ivory Stone-Look Tile and Atlas Frost Stone-Look Tile sit in honed; and all three Ridge tiles sit in rough. Three of the five finish shelves on this site, inside one six-tile family.

The pages describe the rough face in their own words. Ridge Grey Stone-Look Tile opens “A mid-grey slate look with a rough, cleft-stone face.” Ridge Slate Stone-Look Tile adds “strong directional grain”, and Ridge Charcoal Stone-Look Tile is “A near-black slate look with a rough face.” A rough face and a honed face are not two shades of the same decision; a face that catches raking light reads differently across a wall than one that does not.

Five of the six, the three Ridge tiles and Atlas Ivory and Atlas Frost (recorded as texture and honed), are also in the textured tiles collection; Atlas Pearl, recorded as matt, is not.

3. The size decides the joint count, not the face

Five of the six are offered in more than one size, and the difference between those sizes is the biggest single number in this guide. At 300 × 600 mm you get 5.56 pieces and 5 m of joint in every square metre. At 600 × 600 mm that falls to 2.78 pieces and 3.3 m. At 600 × 1200 mm — offered on Atlas Ivory Stone-Look Tile and Atlas Frost Stone-Look Tile — it is 1.39 pieces and 2.5 m, half the joint length of the smallest size in the family.

Joint length is the part of a tiled surface that is not tile, so it is also the part that carries the grout colour. Choosing that colour from a dried sample joint rather than a chart matters more at 5 m per square metre than at 2.5. Tile sizes in Australia works the same arithmetic across the whole catalogue.

4. All six record a slip classification, in two different places

The three Atlas pages each show a Slip-rating reference row in the specification table, worded on the page itself as something to confirm for the intended application. The three Ridge pages record the same kind of classification, but as a line in the product details list beside the finish and the thickness, with the same reference note printed next to it. So the two halves of this family differ in where the fact sits and how it is worded, not in whether it exists, and since 1 October 2026 they also record different classes: P3 on the three Atlas pages, P5 on the three Ridge pages. This site does not hold the underlying test reports for either half. A rating is a classification, not an approval for a particular place — what to take to your tiler sets out who is in a position to answer that, and what to confirm before choosing lists the rows worth asking about before you order.

5. The colour rows split four ways

Three record Grey (Atlas Pearl Stone-Look Tile, Ridge Grey Stone-Look Tile and Ridge Slate Stone-Look Tile), one records Beige (Atlas Ivory Stone-Look Tile), one records White (Atlas Frost Stone-Look Tile) and one records Charcoal (Ridge Charcoal Stone-Look Tile). So the series name does not carry the colour: the three Atlas tiles run Grey, Beige and White, and the three Ridge tiles run Grey, Grey and Charcoal. Read the row beside the page’s own opening sentence rather than instead of it — Atlas Pearl records Grey and describes itself as a “pale pearl-grey stone look”, where the row is the one word the site sorts by and the sentence is the description of the face. The three that record Grey also appear in Grey tiles: 17 greys compared, next to the greys from the other faces. Ridge Charcoal sits with the site's four other darks in Charcoal and black tiles: 5 compared.

6. What these six pages do not record

Thickness is recorded on all six, each at 10 mm; Atlas Ivory Stone-Look Tile and Atlas Frost Stone-Look Tile had theirs updated on 1 October 2026 from supplier documentation. Box coverage was updated on 2 October 2026 from supplier documentation, and it is stated on all six, but on five of them for one size only. Atlas Pearl, made in one size, states 4 pieces, 1.44 m² and 30 kg per box, and its quantity planner uses that 1.44 m². The other five are made in two sizes and state the same figures for their 600 × 600 mm box; the 300 × 600 mm box of the three Ridge tiles and the 600 × 1200 mm box of Atlas Ivory and Atlas Frost are not specified. Since 5 October 2026 you choose the size on those five pages, and for the other size the planner uses the typical pack for that size, 1.44 m² per box, labelled as not stated in the supplier's documentation, so a box count for the other size is an estimate, not an order. The measuring guide works in square metres for that reason, and the quote checklist lists box coverage as a line to have written down before anyone orders.

Questions people ask

Are these actually natural stone?

No. All six record Porcelain in the Material row, and the product type row on each page reads Stone-look tile. They are porcelain tiles with a face that resembles stone. If you want natural stone, the five pieces in natural stone mosaics are the separate shelf, and the page rows are how you tell them apart in either direction.

If a tile comes in two sizes, which one should I get a sample of?

Ask for the size you intend to lay. The face is supplied across several face designs so the pattern varies across a laid surface — Atlas Pearl Stone-Look Tile records eight of them on its page — and how much of that variation you see at once depends on how large each piece is. Comparing samples at home covers what one piece can and cannot tell you.

Should I pick the grout colour from the chart?

A dried sample joint is closer to what you will get than a chart is, and on the 300 × 600 mm sizes in this family there is 5 m of it in every square metre to be wrong about. The grout colour guide sets out the comparison.

Where these numbers come from

Checked on 9 September 2026, with the colour, thickness and slip rows re-checked on 15 September 2026, the count of finish shelves corrected on 30 September 2026 and again on 4 October 2026, when the soft polished collection was retired, and the thickness, slip and marble-look material sentences updated on 1 October 2026 from supplier documentation. Every size, colour row, material row and face description above is read from the product page it links to; where a page records nothing, this guide says so rather than supplying a value. The two counts are arithmetic, not measurements: pieces per square metre is 1 ÷ (width × height), and joint length per square metre is the tile perimeter ÷ (2 × area), because each joint is shared between two tiles and so each tile contributes half of its own perimeter. A figure is rounded once, at the end. The box coverage sentences in section 6 were updated on 2 October 2026 from supplier documentation, and the planner sentence on 5 October 2026, when those pages began to let you choose the size.

Related guides: Marble-look tiles: 14 faces compared, Terrazzo-look tiles: 5 faces compared, Tile sizes in Australia, What to confirm before choosing

Search with Google? Add Tilekind as a preferred source and Google is more likely to show our guides in your Top stories.

The 6 tiles in this guide

Questions about a tile? sales@tilekind.com.au

All articles